The Council of Presidents, founded in 1973, is a voluntary association of the six public New England Land-Grant Universities. Its members include the Universities of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts Amherst, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The chief executive officers of the universities serve as a governing board for the Council, with significant policymaking authority shared with the chief academic officers.

The primary functions of the organization are facilitating information exchange, encouraging regional program planning, and supporting joint activities. The major part of the Council’s work concerns academic affairs, with additional attention devoted to government relations, student affairs, and management issues.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *